The Victory Summit® Virtual Event

Sleep and Parkinson’s

Friday, September 9, 2022

Sleep And Parkinson’s

9:00 am MDT (8 am PDT, 10 am CDT, 11 am EDT)

For many years, the benefits and causes of sleep remained a mystery. However, in the past few years, sleep science has grown significantly. As a result, we now have a deep understanding of the importance of sleep, why it is so essential to sleep consistently and properly, the effects of sleep medicine, and how people with Parkinson’s are specifically affected.  

Parkinson’s can impact sleep in various ways, ranging from trouble falling or staying asleep at night to excessive sleepiness during the day. A night of good sleep boosts everything from mood to the ability to think and process physical movement. Therefore, understanding the intersection of sleep and Parkinson’s can significantly impact quality of life.   

During The Victory Summit Event: Sleep and Parkinson’s, we will explore neurodegeneration, light therapy, different types of sleep-related issues, cognition, mood, exercise, and how they all impact a person living with Parkinson’s. These sessions will not only be informative, but they will also inspire you to take action to improve your quality of life and manage this complicated symptom of Parkinson’s.

Agenda

All times listed are in mdt

9:00 – 9:10 am

Welcome and Agenda

Polly Dawkins, Executive Director, Davis Phinney Foundation

9:10 – 9:20 am

On Sleep and Living Well with Parkinson’s

Davis Phinney, Founder, Davis Phinney Foundation

9:20 – 10:20 am

Sleep, Light, and Neurodegeneration

Aleksandar Videnovic, MD, Associate Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School, Director of the Division of Sleep Medicine at MGH, and Director of the MGH Program on Sleep, Circadian Biology, and Neurodegeneration

10:20 – 10:30 am

Movement Break – LSVT® Global

10:30 – 10:40 am

Screen Break

10:40 – 11:30 am

The Effects of Exercise on Sleep in Parkinson’s

Amy Amara, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Neurology, University of Alabama at Birmingham

11:30 am

Closing Remarks 

Davis Phinney, Polly Dawkins

Digital Program Bag

Virtual Exhibit Hall

Acadia

Amneal

Kyowa Kirin

Supernus

Thank You to Our Sponsors

While the generous support of our sponsors makes our educational programs possible, their donations do not influence Davis Phinney Foundation content, perspective, or speaker selection.