The Victory Summit® Virtual Event

Exercise and Living Well with Parkinson’s

Friday, November 4, 2022

Exercise And Living well with Parkinson’s

9:00 am MDT (8 am PDT, 10 am CDT, 11 am EDT)

Research and anecdotal experience continue to show the critical importance of exercise for people with Parkinson’s. Regular physical exercise can improve mobility and coordination, boost mood, reduce stiffness, minimize soreness and fatigue, and may even slow down the progression of Parkinson’s itself.  

During the event, we’ll be talking to some of the most sought-after experts in the field about what kind of movement to do, how much to do, when to do it, and how to know when enough is enough. We’ll also address topics such as neuroplasticity, intensity, the value and differences between cardio and strength training, and more. Maybe the best part, however, is that we’ll be offering short Parkinson’s-specific exercise sessions so you can try out all the different exercise programs you’ve likely heard about. It’s going to be a day of information, connection, and moving! 

Agenda

All times listed are in mdt

8:00 – 8:45 am

Pedaling for Parkinson’s

Tom Palizzi, Davis Phinney Foundation Ambassador

9:00 – 9:10 am

Welcome and Agenda

Polly Dawkins, Executive Director, Davis Phinney Foundation

Davis Phinney, Founder, Davis Phinney Foundation

9:10 – 10:05 am

Cognition, Mood, and Exercise

Bas Bloem, MD, PhD, Consultant Neurologist, Radboud University Medical Centre Medical Director, Parkinson Center Nijmegen (ParC) Co‐Director, ParkinsonNet, Netherlands  

10:05 – 10:15 am

Bio Break 

10:15 – 11:00 am

The Latest Research on Exercise and Parkinson’s

Daniel Corcos, PhD, Professor of Physical Therapy and Human Movement Sciences and McCormick School of Engineering, Northwestern University

11:00 – 11:15 am

PWR! Moves

Stacey Macaluso, Davis Phinney Foundation Ambassador

11:15 – 11:30 am

Boxing

Brett Miller, Davis Phinney Foundation Ambassador

11:30 – 11:45 am

Delay the Disease

Kristin Meldrum, Davis Phinney Foundation Ambassador

11:45 – 12:00 pm

Dancing

David Leventhal, Founder Dance for PD® 

12:00 – 12:15 pm

Tai Chi

Mike Braitsch, DPT, Founder of Tribe Wellness

12:15 – 12:45 pm

Yoga + Wellness

Indu Subramanian, MD, Movement Disorder Specialist, Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center, and the West Los Angeles Veterans Administration  

12:45 pm

Closing Remarks 

Polly Dawkins, Executive Director, Davis Phinney Foundation 
Davis Phinney, Founder Davis Phinney Foundation

Thank You to Our Sponsors

While the generous support of our sponsors makes our educational programs possible, their donations do not influence Davis Phinney Foundation content, perspective, or speaker selection.