You’re Invited: The Holiday Music Series

Holiday Music Series

The holiday season is right around the corner, and we at the Davis Phinney Foundation want to celebrate. This year, in conjunction with our end-of-year giving celebration, we are hosting THREE live events celebrating holiday music.

Join us as we highlight holiday music in three different ways, through dance, classical performance, and drumming, all the while learning how music can help you live well with Parkinson’s. For more details on each event, read on.

#1 – Let’s Dance

Monday, November 29, 2021
5 pm Mountain Standard Time (4 pm PDT, 6 pm CDT, 7 pm EDT)

Join us for the first event in the series and get ready to move! In this workshop, you will learn step-by-step choreography and explore new movements in sync with holiday tunes. This event will feature two of our favorite dancers, Davis Phinney Foundation Ambassador Amy Carlson, a person with Parkinson’s and founder of Amy Says Dance, and Davis Phinney Foundation Board member David Leventhal, founder of Dance for PD, recipient of the World Parkinson Congress Award for Distinguished Contribution to the Parkinson’s Community, and a co-recipient of the 2013 Alan Bonander Humanitarian Award.

#2 – holiday classics

Monday, December 6, 2021
5 pm Mountain Standard Time (4 pm PDT, 6 pm CDT, 7 pm EDT)

Grab a cozy spot and snuggle up to enjoy classical holiday tunes. We’ll be joined by Davis Phinney Foundation Ambassador and classical pianist Jan Grimes, who will play alongside her neurologist and clarinetist Dr. Sarah Perez. Enjoy holiday classics and learn more about the unique relationship between Parkinson’s and music.

#3 – feel the beat

Monday, December 13, 2021
5 pm Mountain Standard Time (4 pm PDT, 6 pm CDT, 7 pm EDT)

Join us for an interactive drumming session to holiday tunes led by Davis Phinney Foundation Ambassador and owner of 110 fitness Brett Miller. Don’t have a drum? No problem. All you need is a lap.

Be sure to tune in early to each event to hear original music from Michael Raskovsky’s brand-new album, Hope For Christmas 2, an album dedicated to the Parkinson’s cause. Learn more about the creation of this album and how to purchase it here.

Related Posts