Webinar: Living Well with Parkinson’s Through Dance and Movement

With David Leventhal

Tuesday, August 11, at 12 pm Mountain Time
(11 am Pacific, 1 pm Central, 2 pm Eastern)

If you live outside of the U.S. or Canada and would like to register, click here.

In this webinar, founding teacher of Dance for PD® David Leventhal will address

  • This history of Dance for PD
  • The benefits of dancing for people living with Parkinson’s (even if you think you can’t dance)
  • Who Dance for PD classes are for and what they’re really about
  • The value of dancing with others
  • What to expect at your first class (and how to participate even if there’s not a program in your area)
  • The importance of exercise (how intense, how much, how often)
  • And much more

Your Instructor for the Webinar

David Leventhal is a founding teacher and Program Director for Dance for PD®, a program of the Mark Morris Dance Group that has now been used as a model for classes in more than 300 communities in 25 countries. He leads classes for people with Parkinson’s around the world and trains other teachers in the Dance for PD® approach. He has co-produced three volumes of a successful At Home DVD series for the program and has been instrumental in initiating and designing innovative projects involving live streaming and Moving Through Glass, a dance-based Google Glass App for people with Parkinson’s. He received the 2016 World Parkinson Congress Award for Distinguished Contribution to the Parkinson’s Community and was a co-recipient of the 2013 Alan Bonander Humanitarian Award from the Parkinson’s Unity Walk. He graduated from Brown University with honors in English Literature.

Thank you to our sponsors

While the generous support of our sponsors makes our educational programs possible, their donations do not influence Davis Phinney Foundation content, perspective, or speaker selection.